My personalized genetics: 2 ml saliva FedExed to 23andMe!

As the second operation of building my genetically well informed future yesterday (2 days after completing the order) I collected 2 ml of my saliva with the help of 23andMe’s Oragene DNA self-collection kit manufactured by DNA Genotek. First operation has been the sequencing of the D-loop of my mitochondrial DNA out of 5 ml of saliva in the lab at Tulane as a last control experiment, more on that later.

I’d be curious to know approximately how many people in Hungary or in Central Europe, or in all Europe have already used personalized genetics services like 23andMe or the Iceland based deCODE genetics’ genotyping services. As the whole industry is less than 1 year old (starting November 2007) there are not too many public stats available or at least I haven’t found any. With the recent (8th Sep) announcement of the modest $399 kit price reduced from $999 the pioneering personalized genetics service is now affordable for a lot more people, like me (compare it to the $600 iPhone early adopter fee, which I was unable not to buy). 23andMe also seems unbeatable in the aggressive marketing strategy/campaign they are running in the various circles of society (say the fashion world).

Using the Oragene DNA stabilization buffer the big the collected saliva sample is stable at room temperature for over 6 months so there is no problem due to the transit delays.

So if all goes well, 6-8 weeks from now I’ll have a couple hundred thousands insight into the SNPs of a couple thousands of my buccal epithelial cells and leukocytes. So in this spit tube above there lies the early & tiniest portion of my genetically conscious personal future. (Of course my 1.5th thought was to involve my family but it won’t be so easy as it turned out).

80 thoughts on “My personalized genetics: 2 ml saliva FedExed to 23andMe!

  1. I was worried about the privacy of 23andme’s service when I read their privacy statement a couple of months ago, but I guess either they changed it and made it better, or my perspective has changed when the price became $399 :))) (though I am a little broke right now, I’ll definitely try to do it this year).

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

  2. Attila,

    I think maybe we had our processes inverted: making MSC from spit used for 23andMe. So, now what I am doing is to isolate MSC from wisdom teeth (I have found a Dentist who is going to extract the teeth)and then also provide personal genotyping as a part of the stem cell banking process.

    I think it should work, but I was trying to read through the deCODE’s brochures and there is so much genetics jargon in their marketing material I have no idea what the result of any of the tests would tell me! They are definitely going to have to “dumb down” the marketing if they want to appeal to a wider audience.

    What are you expecting to learn from your 23andMe expectoration? Family history, geneology, disease susceptibility?

  3. I launch your weblog tract on google and examine a number of of your proto posts. Prolong to defend up the really unspoilt manipulate. I just boost up your RSS consume to my MSN News Reverend. Hunting upward to indication many from you subsequent on!

  4. I have read the articles you write an article that was considered quite good. Now I’m doing thesis about the article on the Internet are good, thanks for the article.

  5. Soft-updates is an alternative to this scheme where the filesystem keeps a list of dependencies that must be satisfied before a change to the filesystem can be visible on disk. For example, you wouldn’t want to write a directory entry pointing at an inode until the inode was initialized on disk and marked allocated. Softdep handles this by rolling back changes to metadata that don’t yet have their dependencies satisfied when we try to write a block. In this way we can commit any completed ‘transactions’ while keeping the disk state consistent. Softdep also allows these dependencies to discover operations which cancel each other out and thus nothing makes it to disk. For example, let’s say you create a temporary file and then remove it after writing some blocks, which compilers often do, if it all happens within the interval of the syncer nothing will make it to disk.

  6. As millions of people who want to lose weight, but youDid he can not succeed in a kind of worry about your weight yanıyorsunuz more? You might think, and this process will be much easier to lose weight in a healthy way to get over … Now a much more difficult as it used to have a nice view, but you have to do is that you want to attenuation.

  7. Thanks for the new knowledge. I was taught in a written report on this post just to send this project next month. Thanks again.

  8. I heard that this method, based on chemical analysis, is cheaper and promises prompter results than conventional DNA testing because it does away with the need for expensive enzymes also offers a speedy, cost-efficient alternative to existing methods of DNA analysis. Interesting!

  9. This is a real fantastic blog post. I’ve been hunting for this post for some time now and then stumbled upon your website. Thank you a great deal for posting this, it has helped me out immensely. Anyway I like the design and style of your site, looks good, did you make it by yourself?

  10. Out of curiosity, how much overlap is there between the tests offered by DNA Direct and these other companies? Could I find out more than 1000 dollars worth of DNA Direct info from one of these tests?

  11. It is amazing how fast technology changes and people create such helpful innovations. Fast DNA testing is really important especially if it is a certain individual needed it. There are now many forms of DNA testing and people can choose which is best that suits what they wanted.

  12. Are you going to be using your DNA testing to find out where you / your ancestors have originated from as well? My husband and I watched a TV Show where celebrities did DNA testing to find out their ancestor background and many had big surprises. This particular type of DNA testing could tell what area of the world, country and almost to the city of where your ancestors began (I think, if I remember correctly)

    Is the DNA testing getting any cheaper? I think a full-on test costs about $20,000 the last time I checked.

  13. Ok, although I think this is interesting I don’t think this is personalized genetics services are available here in the US but collecting your own saliva is a bit gross. Thanks for the insight though.

Comments are closed.