Mountain View – Budapest: 20 days to get my 23andMe profile!

I ordered my first commercial genetic profile from 23andMe on the 9th of September online, FedExed my 2 ml saliva from Budapest to 23andMe, Mountain View on the 12th of September. I got the results today. That said within 3 weeks since the birth of the idea I purchased more than 500 000 SNPs of mine analyzed, evaluated and ready to be browsed. With this step I finally and quickly entered into the age of personalized genetics no matter how embryonic it is.

After a superficial first scan of my results I can say that it is a really interesting thing that instantly pushes me towards accumulating more knowledge on the personalized genetics field concerning specific traits, stats, risks and studies.

Here is a first look on what my Y chromosome SNPs are saying on my paternal haplogroup:

I learned for instance that based only on my genotype and not any environmental factors involved I have a lower than average risk for most but not all of the cancers and say heart attack while I have an increased risk for developing Type 2 Diabetes. Of course those results are relative to the average risks of the particular diseases and dependent on the size of the populations involved in the risk assessment studies amongst others. Many SNP variants are specially interesting considering my family’s clinical history and could be interpreted much better if my relatives’ genetic markers were available.

Having figured out how to handle my results publicly I continue the genetic disclosing.

9 thoughts on “Mountain View – Budapest: 20 days to get my 23andMe profile!

  1. I am not sure yet about how to interpret this data and don’t know any I1 haplogroup data in Hungary and have to take a closer look at the particular SNPs in question.
    According to Wikipedia: “The most recent common ancestor (MRCA) of I1 lived from 4,000 to 6,000 years ago somewhere in the far northern part of Europe, perhaps Denmark, according to Nordtvedt. His descendants are primarily found among the Germanic populations of northern Europe and the bordering Uralic and Celtic populations, although even in traditionally German demographics I1 is overshadowed by the more prevalent Haplogroup R.”
    Origin from an Uralic population can be one explanation. Celtic populations lived in the area of the Carpathian Basin long before Hungarians came in so another scenario could be that. But as I said I am not sure so I’ll investigate to learn and that is one reason to like this service.

  2. Here’s what the “star” means after the haplogroup in I1* according to 23andMe: “All lineages of a subgroup share one or more mutations. Sometimes there are a few lineages that don’t fit into any subgroup of a haplogroup. Since there isn’t a mutation that links these lineages, they don’t get their own subgroup. Instead, these lineages are given the main haplogroup label plus a star (*) to indicate that they are part of the main haplogroup but don’t fit into any of the known subgroups. (For further information see “What is a haplogroup?”)

    “Star” lineages sometimes arise when a population grows rapidly. If your paternal haplogroup assignment ends with a *, your paternal lineage may have participated in such a population expansion. The age of the haplogroup indicates, roughly, when that rapid population growth happened.”

  3. So now I have wasted an hour scouring the internet and learning your heritage, exploring the possibilities that such and “explosion” in population could be tied to your namesake “Attila the Hun”. Now I see the ties to the Norsemen and European history. Fascinating and complicated.

    OK, now I have to get back to work…

  4. “Did you know your ancestry was primarily Scandinavian?”

    This might be in line with the Finno-Ugric language relationship: grouping of languages in the Uralic language family, comprising Finnish, Estonian, Hungarian and related languages.
    The scattering of the Finno-Ugric family of peoples from their ancestral home occurred about c. 4,500 years ago.

    I share your interest in what your SNP’s reveal about your ancestry. But I ‘m critical as to the usefulness of SNP’s in “predicting” diseases or even guiding to other disease-oriented lifestyle.

    Can you tell me the usefulness of knowing that the SNP’s that 23andMe has chosen (from the many others available that might point in another direction) increases the risk of a very common disease like lets say diabetes 2 with 25% or 50%? Does it mean that those people should start jogging whereas the others can continue their sedatory junk food eating lifestyle?? On the other hand can you tell me the usefulness of knowing that the risk of a rarer disease (0.01-1%) increases with 100%? (thus 0.02-2%)?

    I ‘m not convinced nor are others: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/7616073.stm

    Furthermore I don’t like the aggressive 23andMestyle advocating personal genomics as FUN. For certain people it might turn out to be quite the opposite.

    Laika (Jacqueline)
    http://laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com/
    http://laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/23andme-23notme-not-yet/

  5. Soft-updates is an alternative to this scheme where the filesystem keeps a list of dependencies that must be satisfied before a change to the filesystem can be visible on disk. For example, you wouldn’t want to write a directory entry pointing at an inode until the inode was initialized on disk and marked allocated. Softdep handles this by rolling back changes to metadata that don’t yet have their dependencies satisfied when we try to write a block. In this way we can commit any completed ‘transactions’ while keeping the disk state consistent. Softdep also allows these dependencies to discover operations which cancel each other out and thus nothing makes it to disk. For example, let’s say you create a temporary file and then remove it after writing some blocks, which compilers often do, if it all happens within the interval of the syncer nothing will make it to disk.

Comments are closed.