Bill Dye’s hope for an early regenerative medicine therapy! Please help.

Bill Dye has a serious muscle-tendon damage and is looking for an experimental regenerative medicine therapy (stem cells or tissue engineering or both) after 2 years and many surgical interventions. If any out of the expert readers of this blog can help or knows someone, who can help, please do comment or email Mr. Bill Dye. For details, please read the emails below:

Subject: Tore my right pec major sternal head off of my humerus

Hi, my name is Bill Dye. I live in Louisville Ky. I had a very bad injury on 3/17/2005, while doing the decline bench press, and completely tore my right pec major sternal head from my humerus. It was initially misdiagnosed as a partial tear. I had my 1st failed surgery on 7/26/2205 in Birmingham Alabama. The doctor did not even reattach my tendon, which I did not realize till a few months after the surgery.

I did some more research online, and came across Dr C. B., who was then at Duke University Med Center. On 9/6/2006, Dr B. did successfully reattach my tendon to my humerus, but there is so much scar damage from the original injury, that my muscle is still extremely disfigured.

I came across an article on Acell Inc, and got to researching more online about Regenerative Medicine. I was wondering if you knew of any new technology in Regenerative Medicine, that could regenerate my muscle and tendon, to pre injury, such as the “concept” behind the Urinary Bladder Matrix that Acell has, and is attempting to market in the near future. Thanks.

Dear Bill,

Unfortunately I can not offer you any instant therapy or contact person at this moment (I am not a medical doctor but a research scientist), but if I post your story on my blog, chance is that some expert can find you, who could be in a position to help. I cannot guarantee anything. If you say yes, I post your email with slight modifications.

You must know, that everything in stem cell therapy is really in an experimental phase, so you just simply cannot expect too much from such an intervention. Nevertheless, muscle and tendon regeneration is a promising field in regmed and tissue engineering as those issues can be reached relatively easily from the outside and are simple enough to develop an early therapy for them with the current embryonic tools. Moreover there is a big demand here.

Cheers,
Attila.

Yes, please post my email. Also, is it possible to talk to you on the phone, or you call me. My cell # is 502-417-7274. It seems like Acell Inc is on to something, but my concern is regeneration of my tendon from my bone also. Although supposedly my tendon is 100% good according ton Dr B. from the surgery he did on 9/6/2006, and its the muscle damage that is my main problem, I know the only way to be back to 100% function, and cosmesis, is for all the damaged tissue to be removed, and the whole area regenerate healthy tissue, muscle and tendon. I have had 2 follow ups with Dr B. since my surgery to reattach my tendon to my humerus, and on the last 1, which was on 7/10/2007, i discussed with him Acell’s UBM. He said he had used extra cellular matrix’s in the past with mediocre results, and that he also knew Dr S. B. Dr B., along with A. S., who is the founder of Acell, had done work together at Purdue in the past. A lot of the information I am sure your well up to speed on. Thanks for your quick response!

6 thoughts on “Bill Dye’s hope for an early regenerative medicine therapy! Please help.

  1. Nanog, i had contacted a few of the Doctors at the McGowan Institute within the past year, and none seem very interested in my condition at the time because it was an injury, versus a disease. My orthopedic surgeon, who did successfully reattach my tendon to my humerus, knows 1 of the Doctors there, who is behind a lot of the Extra Cellular Matrix technology.

  2. Sounds similar to Cato Laurencin’s work, but I don’t think his procedures are ready for use in humans yet. He is a practicing surgeon though, so if anyone knows, he does.

  3. have you tried Dr. Micheal Moskal in Sellersburg, Indiana. He is the local shoulder MD and was in Louisville TOP DOCS,I am at nurse at Cark Memorial Hospital in Jeffersonville, In. and he is very weel known, and highly sought. I have seen him fix some really bad screw ups from other docs. Worth a try !! Hope this helps!! Cindy Thurman LPN

  4. have you tried Dr. Micheal Moskal in Sellersburg, Indiana. He is the local shoulder MD and was in Louisville TOP DOCS,I am at nurse at Clark Memorial Hospital in Jeffersonville, In. and he is very weel known, and highly sought. I have seen him fix some really bad screw ups from other docs. Worth a try !! Hope this helps!! Cindy Thurman LPN

Comments are closed.