The last time you saw a science presentation with an overhead projector

For me, it was on SENS3, the presentation of Anun Hallen, who blamed only extracellular crosslinks (e.g. advanced glycation end products) for ageing. It was not the best presentation I’ve ever seen, I can tell ya. (I heard once, that there was a high school science contest in the 80’s with an overhead projector only as a presentation tool, and there was one nerd participant with only a floppy disk to present his data, so he put the disk on the overhead projector to visualize)

Hallenoverheadprojector

One thought on “The last time you saw a science presentation with an overhead projector

  1. I still see people in business putting PowerPoint slides on to “acetate” slide and using an over head projector. It is painful to watch.

    I had a laugh about your “Floppy” projection. Must’ve been in the late 80’s. Floppies didn’t make the scene until ’83-85. My first “professional” lab job at the University of Rochester, we had to “burn” all of our spreadsheets onto a Commador 64 (cassette tape), load the graphics software (contained on 3 floppy drives), know the DOS code to be able to dump the data from the 64 into the graphics program, then print a graph (only available in B&W print), apply legends and label axis with press-on letters and then take a picture in order to get it into print.

    Wish I had an iPod back then.

Comments are closed.