First full-time biotech employee at Google BioLabs

googattcopyHello everybody, let me introduce myself: I am the first full-time biotechnologist at Google Inc. (well, not really). My job at Google is fascinating: I have to plan and build a comprehensive regenerative database/map of the complete human body which will be the input of the ultimate human regenerative software. It is so, because in the long run, Google Regeneration Clinic will open its doors to offer a continuous regeneration treatment for its patients, aka partial immortalization or pimm. No surprise, that my nickname here at G is: the Pimmer. The aim of regenerative medicine is to regenerate all tissues and organs of the human body with the help of stem cells’ regenerative potential. Theoretically, if all tissues and organs of an adult body were regenerated once, then it could be regenerated two and eventually n times. This technological possibility is called partial immortalization.

Even my bosses do not really understand how the continuous regeneration treatment will work, but they placed their confidence in me. Although not being biotechnologists, they caught the brand-new concept of regenerative medicine, the science and technology built around stem cells’ regenerative capacity: the aim here is to facilitate and amplify or simply replace the native regenerative potential of the organism, the targeted tissue or organ. Regmed does not care about the causes and the detailed effects of the injury, but about the replacement, and the renewal of the damaged function.
So I have the tremendous opportunity to build Google BioLabs and thanks to the cooperation with California Institute of Regenerative Medicine our new experimental lab is about to open. What we need: smart geek biotechers, engineers and 20 years of masturbatory intensity of concentration (the words of Michael Chabon) to fulfill the task. What we already have: the money, the most innovative corporate environment and the lifetime commitment.
Questions for the would-be Google BioLabs members
(but I promise there won’t be 7 interviews for 14 hours with 28 Googlers):

1st With an ordinary FACS machine, how long does it take to count 10-100 trillion cells which is the order of magnitude of the human body?
2nd: Delineate a non-invasive method capable of counting so many cells within a day.
3rd Design the algorithm of the consecutive order of complete tissue and organ regeneration.

8 thoughts on “First full-time biotech employee at Google BioLabs

  1. Congrats Attila.🙂 Small step and big leap as a BioGoogler.

    Anna, the Google Moon Elevator Voice over Space Handler, and Chief Visionary Evangelist Chief Assistant Chief Chief.

  2. Anna, thx. I know the markets (IT and BT) are different, but I think it’s time for the big G to move towards biotech a little bit.
    Visting Chief Scholarshipper.🙂

  3. Is google hiring in this area? I am a recent PhD interested in biotechnology, and would be interested in finding out more.

    Thanks!

  4. I must say that overall I am really impressed with this blog.It is easy to see that you are passionate about your writing. If only I had your writing ability I look forward to more updates and will be returning.

Comments are closed.