Pimm in Cambridge

eagleI have just arrived in Cambridge to work in an established stem cell lab from October till December. It is a tremendous opportunity for a rookie researcher. That means I’ll be doing experiments heavily, acquire new methods and hopefully work on my favourite puzzle topic yet.

Oh, I almost forgot: this is old U.K. Cambridge, not the Massachusetts one. When I was Cambridge in June, I found it familiar, attractive. Cambridge seems to be the place, when “half of western science” was born, just think about Newton, Crick&Watson.

Actually Charles Darwin had other experiences: Although, as we shall presently see, there were some redeeming features in my life at Cambridge, my time was sadly wasted there, and worse than wasted.

But my favourite C moment is this: On Feb. 28, 1953, Francis Crick walked into the Eagle pub in Cambridge, England, and, as James Watson later recalled, announced that “we had found the secret of life.” Actually, they had.
And when I last saw Aubrey de Grey, it was in the Eagle Pub too.

image source