TierneyLab: new science blog hosted by The New York Times

tierneylabTierneyLab, the science blog of the professional journalist John Tierney was launched one week at January 15 hosted by The New York Times website with this intro: “I’m hoping to follow the scientific method: experiment to see what works and what doesn’t. I want to give you a chance not just to discuss science but to participate in it. I’ll be guided by what’s in the news, what’s intriguing, what’s fun.” From the about section: “John Tierney always wanted to be a scientist but went into journalism because its peer-review process was a great deal easier to sneak through.” The 2 founding principles behind are tricky enough: 1. Just because an idea appeals to a lot of people doesn’t mean it’s wrong. 2. But that’s a good working theory. Self-reference is a compelling logical principle, so I suggest to apply these 2 principles to TierneyLab too: 1. Just because a blog belongs to The New York Times doesn’t mean it’s bad. 2. But that’s a good working theory. :) Anyhow, I am curious about the output of an experiment based on the mix of popular science and high end journalism in the medium of blogs.

Lifehacks: Switching to Google Reader from NetNewsWireLite

I like RSS feeds since with the help of feeds and readers I can see the updated contents of hundreds of website on one surface. Now I’ve completed my desertion to Google Reader as my new basic feedreader from NetNewsWireLite. In order to import your subsriptions from NetNews you have to export it in an OPML format and upload it to Google Reader. From now on I can reach all my feeds with a new tab in Firefox. (I don’t understand why the Reader is unable to recognize the duplicate feeds.)

readerswitch